Back to Top

The Leitrim Guardian has been published annually since Christmas 1968. It is Ireland’s only County Magazine and is produced by a voluntary committee.  Leitrim represents a microcosm of life in Ireland, from the very rural to the cosmopolitan. Over many years our beautiful county has attracted a very diverse mix of peoples, amongst them artists, writers, musicians, actors, organic growers, healers etc., many who have chosen to live here as a retreat from the hustle and bustle of busier climes; all bringing a unique and special colour to the county, and mixing seamlessly with the long established rural community.

Held within the pages of each edition of this unique magazine is a sense of the wealth of the diverse talent, entrepreneurship, and honest to goodness neighbourliness, that exists within the county. You will find stories, musings, photographs and poems, from professionals and amateurs alike, depicting our rich and colourful history, and mirroring the sorrows and joys felt during past and present times. These articles illustrate the trojan work being carried out by various individuals and groups working tirelessly throughout the county for the betterment of others. They portray the results of a community consisting of a great mixture of long settled, and newly arrived people, who now carry the flag of Leitrim forward to the future with great pride.

Tommy Moran


Editor: Tommy Moran, Ballinamore, Co. Leitrim.



Hon. Presidents: Dr. Bláithín Gallagher, Creevelea; Mae Malone, Woodbrook; Sean Sweeney, Manorhamilton; Mossi Whelan, Aughavas.

Chairperson: Hubert McMorrow, Glenfarne.

Vice Chairperson: Padraig Mulligan, Drumreilly.

Secretary: Fr. John Sexton, Rossinver.

Assistant Secretary: Mary Martin-Curran, Ballinamore.

Joint-Treasurers: Ann Murray, Carrigallen & Gerry Fox, Westport.

Assistant Treasurer: Ann Murray, Carrigallen.

P.R.O.’s: Padraig Mulligan, Drumreilly; Myra Reynolds, Drumsna.

Committee Members

Frances Kelly, Sligo; Fr. Gerry Comiskey, Co. Cavan; Jacinta Heslin, Gortletteragh; Eamonn Daly, Drumshanbo; Aiden Kelleher, Gortletteragh, Fiona Kuehl, Dromahair.